Marie Curie ESR Fellows

  • Alessandro Michel Brunetti earned his M.Sc. degree in Electronic Engineering from the University of Naples "Federico II", Italy, in 2012. In 2007 he has been a visiting student at the Polytechnic of Turin where he developed a salinity sensor. In 2011 he was an Erasmus exchange project student at the University "Rovira i Virgili" in Tarragona, Spain, where he developed a fabrication process for Tungsten Trioxide based nanostructured gas sensors. In middle 2012 he was a commercial operations engineer intern at General Electric in Milan. In late 2012 he was a research grant at the Consorzio Nazionale Interuniversitario per le Telecomunicazioni, in Naples, where he worked on radar systems and maritime project management. His current research focuses on analogue design for CMOS Image Sensors.


  • Nadia Pinton earned her International M.Sc. degree in Micro and Nanotechnologies for Integrated Systems (EUR-ACE® label) from the Polytechnic of Turin, the Grenoble Institute of Techonology and the École Polytecnique Fédérale de Lausanne in October 2013. She spent the last semester of her master as visiting student at the Columbia Unversity of the City of New York, within the Columbia Laboratory for Unconventional Electronics, working on the study of single-walled carbon nanotubes in organic photovoltaic applications and the fabrication of optical nanostructures based on distributed Bragg reflectors to increase the efficiency of thin-film photovoltaic cells. In summer 2012, she did a 3-month internship at the Research Center of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (CIN2-CSIC) of Barcelona, within the Nanobiosensor and Bioanalysitical Applications group, working on the implementation of a Lab-on-Chip platform based on integrated Mach-Zehnder interferometers. Her current research focuses on the study and development - simulation, nanofabrication and characterization - of plasmonic colour filters based on nanohole arrays for CMOS image sensor applications.


  • Francesco Giorgio received the Master Degree in Computer Engineering from the University of Naples "Federico II", Italy, in 2013. In early 2013, he was an intern at Intel Mobile Communications in Munich, where he worked on trace and debug solutions for system-on-chips. His current research is focused on analog-to-digital converters architectures for CMOS Image Sensors.


  • Oscar Rahnama received his Bachelors with Distinction from McGill University in Canada in 2013 and was awarded a John Howard Ambrose Scholarship. Later, he studied courses in Biomedical Engineering in Oxford. He was awarded the Antje Graupe Pryon International award for a project on Network-on-Chip at the Technical University of Denmark. He undertook internships in Infolytica, Lockheed Martin and worked for the Canadian Department of National Defense. He is currently working on embedded image processing and is developing a novel technique for large-area X-ray imaging. 


  • Deyan Levski received his master's degree in Systems-on-chip from Linköping University, Sweden in 2013 and a bachelor degree in Electronics from University of Ruse, Bulgaria in 2011. He was also an Analog IC Design Engineer with OmniVision in Oslo, Norway where he was developing analog and mixed-signal readout circuits for automotive CMOS image sensors. His current research is focused on system and transistor-level design of very high conversion speed column-parallel Analog-to-Digital Converters for CMOS Image Sensors. Deyan maintains a website on his activities in Electronics at


Project Coordinator

  • Prof. Bhaskar Choubey (Associate Professor and Fellow of Somerville College) was awarded the IEEE Sensors council’s early career achievement GOLD award in 2011. He obtained his doctorate from the University of Oxford as a Rhodes scholar and has been associated with University of Glasgow, Max Planck Institute of Brain Research, Frankfurt as Pea Scatchered fellow and the University of Sydney as an international visiting fellow. His research on camera sensors has been awarded the Raymond Davies Scholarship from the Society of Imaging Science and Technology and the Myril B. Reed best paper award from IEEE. His research interests are in the fields of analogue and mixed signal CMOS design, micro/nano electro mechanical systems, nonlinear dynamics and the neurophysiology of the human visual systems.



  • Martin Wäny is the CEO of Awaiba. With over fifteen years of experience in CMOS Image Sensors, Martin has invented several new pixel design and architectures and holds several patents including those for combined linear and logarithmic pixels, fast readout CMOS Image Sensors and sensors for endoscopic applications. He has developed high speed area scan sensors, high speed line scan sensors and a range of computer vision products for automated quality control.

Associate Partners


  • Prof. David Cummings holds the Chair of Electronic Systems at the University of Glasgow. He runs the Microsystem Technology group comprising 20 doctoral and post-doctoral researchers. His research into lab-in-a-pill led to the University spin-out, mode diagnostics and he has consulted for Ion Torrent Inc that successfully commercialised his CMOS sensor technology for use in the personal genome machine – the next generation of gene sequencing tools. Recently his research accomplishments were recognised by the granting of a Royal Society Wolfson Merit Award.



  • Dr. Mark McJury is a leading clinical scientist who in addition to supporting the radiotherapy facilities and has published a range of publications within diagnostic imaging and radiotherapy. As the R&D Coorinator for RT Physics, he coordinates and supervises R&D projects, postgrad students and clinical trials work. He also coordinates the teaching activities of the centre (including Glasgow University MSc course in Medical Physics, Scottish RT Physics module for FRCR program). Dr. McJury is also the Editor in Chief of the Reports Series of IPEM, and an associate lecturer and consultant for the Open University.
  • Dr. Colin Martin, FIPEM is the Head of Health Physics and manages the radiation protection and diagnostic radiology services. In addition, he is a member of International Commission of Radiological Protection Task Groups, and on several committees for the International Atomic Energy Agency. He has received the Founders Prize from the Society for Radiological protection and the Barclay Prize from the British Institute of Radiology for contributions to research in the field.